Wednesday, August 19, 2015

Review of Grace Under Pressure by Julie Hyzy

Review of Grace Under Pressure by Julie Hyzy
Grace Under Pressure (Manor House Mystery #1) by Julie Hyzy (Goodreads Author)

From the author of the successful White House Chef mysteries.

Everyone wants a piece of millionaire Bennett Marshfield, owner of Marshfield Manor, but now it's up to a new curator Grace Wheaton and handsome groundskeeper Jack Embers to protect dear old Marshfield. But to do this, they'll have to investigate a botched Ponzi scheme, some torrid Wheaton family secrets-and sour grapes out for revenge.
Mass Market Paperback, 320 pages
Published June 1st 2010 by Berkley
Leona's Review:
This is my first read by Julie Hyzy and one I enjoyed.
Grace Wheaton is the assistant curator at Mansfield Manor and wants the position of Abe when he retires; Grace is still in the probation stage.
Abe Vargas is found murdered at the Manor and Grace finds herself in charge.
Her assistance, Frances, is very good at her job but too inquisitive I found.
Bennett Marshfield is the owner of the Manor.
The gardener is Jack Embers and this may lead to a romantic interest in future books, I think.
Grace has the two roommates, Bruce and Scott, who own the local wine shop called Amethyst Wines.
There are the overworked detectives who find a murder is not what they usually have in the small town of Emberstowne.
There is also Ronny Tooney, a wannabe detective.
Other characters are in the book and some I thought may be in the future series.
This book has more than a murder scene; there is also a scam scene, a Ponzi scheme, secret doorways and rooms and family secrets.  There is a Victorian home in need of repair which was inherited by Grace from her mother and her grandmother.  Grace's grandmother worked at the Mansion and Grace had been there many times as a child. At one time it was said "was the house cursed?' but that is as far as that got.
The list of the Manor House Mysteries are: Grace Under Pressure ( June 7, 2010), June 5, 2012), Grace Interrupted ( June 7, 2011), Grace Among Thieves (Grace Takes Off ( July 2, 2013), Grace Against the Clock (July 12, 2014) and Grace Cries Uncle (July 7, 2015).
I will give this a 4 star rating and will read the other books in the series.
Leona Olson


No comments: